Skip to main content

Mental Health Credentialing

Best Credentialing Services For Mental Health Providers (2026)

Ten credentialing options for therapists, psychologists, psychiatrists and PMHNPs, plus ours, compared on what each company publishes about itself: who it serves, what it costs, what’s included, and whose name ends up on the payer contract. Published prices run from $79 to $500 per payer, and three platforms credential you under their own contracts instead of yours.

See The Comparison Table

How This Comparison Works

We wrote this page, and we’re one of the options compared on it. So every fact about another company comes from that company’s own website, and each row links the page it came from. We last checked every entry on October 4, 2026.

Nobody gets ranked or scored, and the Best For column is our one-line read of who each company’s own site says it serves. Hold our entry to the same test as everyone else’s. What’s published? What’s included? Whose contract is it when the work is done?

Credentialing help for a mental health practice comes in two shapes. A credentialing company prepares your applications, sends them to each insurance company, and charges you for that work. A platform like Alma or Grow Therapy credentials you onto its own payer contracts, and you bill insurance through the platform. Either one can get you in network. The difference doesn’t show up until later, on the day you want to bill a payer under your own name and Tax ID.

Psychiatric nurse practitioners have a separate guide with prescriber-specific detail: Best PMHNP Credentialing Services. This one covers the wider field, from LPCs, LCSWs and LMFTs to psychologists and group practices.

How We Compared

We read each company’s own website on October 4, 2026, and wrote down only what it says about itself. No review sites. No roundups. No ratings. Every option got the same four questions:

  • Who it’s for. The license types, practice sizes and settings the company names.
  • Pricing. Whether a price is published on its site. Where one is, we quote it exactly. Where it isn’t, the table says “Not published.”
  • What’s included. CAQH/DataSpring setup and re-attestation, follow-up until the payer confirms an effective date, and recredentialing.
  • Whose contract it is. Whether you finish with participation in your own name, or you’re billing through the platform’s agreement.

When a company’s page didn’t answer one of those questions, we say so rather than fill the gap ourselves. Terms change, so open the source link in each row before you sign anything.

Side-By-Side Comparison

OptionBest ForWho It’s ForPricing PublishedYou Own The Contracts?Source
CureMDSolo, group and telehealth therapy practices that want credentialing tied to an EHRCounselors, psychologists and therapists in solo, group and telehealth practicesNot publishedNot stated on its pagecuremd.com
DENmaarBehavioral health groups with three or more providers that also want DENmaar’s EHR and billingEstablished or growing behavioral health organizations; best fit is three or more providers and at least 200 insurance claims a monthYes: $200 per provider, per insurance plan, only for its billing and revenue cycle clientsYes; it enrolls your providers and group and adds providers to your existing payer contractsdenmaar.com
GetPaneledSolo therapists who want a flat, low price for a few commercial panelsIndependent therapists and therapy practicesYes: $79 per payer, $199 for three payers, $349 for five, $499 for five payers across two states; CAQH and NPI setup alone $49Yes, per its sitegetpaneled.com
MedStatesTherapy groups, clinics and SUD programs adding clinicians to existing contractsTherapists (LPC, LMHC, LMFT), psychologists, counselors, group practices, clinics and SUD treatment centersNot published (free quote, or an estimate emailed after you share contact details)Not stated on its pagemedstates.com
MedwaveBehavioral health practices and facilities that also want payer contractingBehavioral health practices and facilities: inpatient, outpatient, residential, and small and large private practicesNot published; priced per provider, per insurance companyNot stated on its pagemedwave.io
National Credentialing Solutions (nCred), now SentactOrganizations that want payer enrollment run as a managed servicePractices from solo practitioners to large organizations; its proposal form lists LCSWs, LPCs, LMFTs, LMHCs, psychiatric NPs, psychiatrists and psychologistsNot published (service proposal form)Yes, per its enrollment FAQsentact.com, FAQ
TheraProfessionalTherapists, psychologists and PMHNPs who want independent contracts at a published per-payer priceTherapists, psychologists, PMHNPs and group practices onboarding new cliniciansYes: $275 to $450 per payer; maintenance retainers from $99 per monthYes, per its sitetheraprofessional.com
AlmaLicensed therapists who want credentialing, billing and referrals inside one membershipFully licensed clinicians; its insurance program is written for therapistsYes: $95 a month, billed at $1,140 a yearNo, credentialed under Alma’s Tax IDhelloalma.com
Grow TherapyTherapists and prescribers who want in-network clients and billing handled, with no provider fee listedTherapists, counselors and prescribersNo provider fee listed on the pages we readNo, added to Grow’s group contractsgrowtherapy.com
SonderMindTherapists, psychiatrists and PMHNPs who want referrals and billing handled inside a networkIndependently licensed master’s or doctorate-level therapists, psychiatrists and psychiatric nurse practitionersNo provider fee listed on the pages we readNo, listed under SonderMind’s Tax ID and group NPIsondermind.com, join page
AdvanceAPracticePractices that want contracts in their own name, from two payers to a full panel, at a published priceSolo therapists, new providers joining a contracted clinic, and practices setting up or moving their own payer contractsYes: New Provider Credentialing $750 setup plus $400 per payer, Direct Payer Contracting $1,000 plus $500 and Individual Provider Credentialing $500 plus $350, with a two payer minimumYesPackages

Companies come first, then platforms, each group in alphabetical order. We put ourselves last because we wrote the page. AdvanceAPractice is not affiliated with, sponsored by or endorsed by any company compared here. Details come from each company’s public pages on the date shown and can change.

The Options, One By One

CureMD

CureMD’s mental health credentialing page is written for counselors, psychologists and other therapists in solo, group and telehealth practices. It says its system connects to CAQH and EHRs to fill in forms automatically, and it automates re-credentialing and license renewals. The page describes its pricing as scalable. It doesn’t list a figure.

DENmaar

DENmaar is a behavioral health EHR and billing company, and it only credentials practices that use it for ongoing billing and revenue cycle work. It doesn’t sell credentialing on its own.

Standard credentialing is $200 per provider, per insurance plan, and covers CAQH preparation, payer applications, follow-up, Medicare and Medicaid, EFT and ERA enrollment, group rosters and revalidations. Its site says the best fit is three or more providers and at least 200 insurance claims a month, and it can add new providers to your existing payer contracts.

GetPaneled

GetPaneled is built for independent therapists and publishes flat packages. One payer is $79, three payers are $199, five are $349, and five payers across two states are $499, each with CAQH and NPI setup and follow-up until approval.

CAQH and NPI setup alone is $49, extra state applications are $39, and two or more providers get 10% off the group package. If it can’t get you paneled within six months, it refunds the package price. Its site says it credentials therapists under their own practice details and reviews the participation agreement with you at approval.

MedStates

MedStates names therapists (LPCs, LMHCs and LMFTs), psychologists and counselors, plus group practices, mental health clinics and substance use disorder treatment centers. It handles CAQH profile creation, updates and re-attestations, initial credentialing through approval, and re-credentialing. For groups, it adds new clinicians to existing group contracts. There’s no published price. You request a free quote, or its pricing page emails an estimate after you enter your contact details.

Medwave

Medwave covers behavioral health in inpatient, outpatient and residential settings, plus small and large private practices. Its behavioral health page lists credentialing for new and established providers, and it sells payer contracting and rate negotiation separately. The pricing page gives the model, not numbers. Credentialing is priced per provider, per insurance company, with volume discounts and group rates.

National Credentialing Solutions (NCred)

nCred now operates under the Sentact name, and nationalcredentialing.com forwards to Sentact’s payer enrollment page. Sentact says that service handles government and commercial health plan enrollment for your practitioners, customized to each client, and you request a service proposal to get a quote. Its proposal form runs from solo practitioners to large organizations and lists license types including LCSWs, LPCs, LMFTs, LMHCs, psychiatric nurse practitioners, psychiatrists and psychologists. Its enrollment FAQ says plainly that it can’t make insurers process applications any faster.

TheraProfessional

TheraProfessional works with therapists, psychologists, PMHNPs and group practices bringing on new clinicians. It publishes its pricing: individual credentialing typically runs $275 to $450 per payer, and its site puts three to five payers at $900 to $1,800 total. The work includes panel applications, CAQH setup with re-attestation guidance, and follow-up with insurers to move applications forward. Maintenance retainers start at $99 a month. Its site says that with independent credentialing, you’re contracting directly with each insurance company.

Alma

Alma is open to fully licensed clinicians, and its insurance program page is written for therapists. Alma handles the paperwork, payer applications and eligibility verification, then credentials members directly under Alma’s Tax ID, with access to Alma’s negotiated rates instead of standard individual rates. Membership is $95 a month, billed at $1,140 a year, on its insurance program page.

Grow Therapy

Grow Therapy works with therapists, counselors and prescribers. Its enrollment FAQ says credentialing adds you to Grow’s group contracts, so you bill clients’ insurance through Grow. Your payout is based on Grow’s contracted rate with each client’s insurer, shown on your rate sheet. The pages we read didn’t list a fee charged to providers. Its FAQ also says your enrollment status won’t transfer if you leave Grow.

SonderMind

SonderMind takes independently licensed master’s or doctorate-level therapists, psychiatrists and psychiatric nurse practitioners. Once you’re approved to join, it credentials you with most major insurers in your state. Its credentialing FAQ says you’ll be listed under SonderMind’s Tax ID and group NPI, that you agree to be credentialed with every eligible plan, and that the additional plans can take up to 120 business days. It pays every two weeks. The pages we read didn’t list a fee charged to providers.

AdvanceAPractice

We sell three credentialing packages, each a setup fee per provider plus one price per commercial payer. New Provider Credentialing is a $750 setup fee plus $400 per payer when a new provider joins a clinic’s signed contracts, Direct Payer Contracting is $1,000 plus $500 per payer when a formed practice needs contracts of its own, and Individual Provider Credentialing is $500 plus $350 per payer for a therapist, counselor or psych NP. That’s $350, $400 or $500 per payer after the setup fee, and you can start with as few as two payers.

Group discounts are 10% for 2 to 4 providers, 15% for 5 to 9 and 20% for 10 to 50, applied automatically at checkout. We audit your CAQH/DataSpring profile with you so it matches what we send each payer, manage the applications, follow up on a set schedule, and confirm the effective date when each payer approves. Your NPPES, DataSpring and portal accounts stay in your name, and so do the contracts. Payers still decide approval and timing. Everything that’s included, and what isn’t, is on our credentialing services for mental health providers page.

After your contracts are active, ongoing medical billing is available for the same practice.

How To Choose

Start with where you want the practice to be in two years. Then work backward.

  • You need insured clients soon and don’t want per-payer fees. A platform fits. You’ll be billing through its agreement rather than your own, so read its terms for leaving before you start.
  • You want contracts in your own name, without doing the paperwork. Hire a company, and get the full price in writing: per payer, per provider, plus any monthly retainer. Ask it to confirm the participation agreement will name you or your practice.
  • You run a group and you’re adding clinicians. Ask whether the company adds new clinicians to your existing group contracts, and who tracks each clinician’s CAQH/DataSpring re-attestation dates.
  • An application has gone quiet. Ask who chases it, on what schedule, and whether the fee covers follow-up through the effective date or ends at submission.

Common Questions

The payer networks and application paths can differ by state, including which network handles behavioral health. We check your selected payers in each state before we apply. For your state mix, use our contact form.

Do I Own My Insurance Contracts If A Platform Credentials Me?

Not on the three platforms we checked. Alma says it credentials members under Alma’s Tax ID, SonderMind lists you under its Tax ID and group NPI, and Grow Therapy says enrollment adds you to Grow’s group contracts and won’t transfer if you leave. You’re in network through their agreements. To hold participation in your own name, you or a company working for you applies to each payer directly.

How Much Do Credentialing Services Cost For Mental Health Providers?

It depends on the model. GetPaneled publishes $79 per payer or $349 for five, DENmaar charges its billing clients $200 per provider per plan, and TheraProfessional publishes $275 to $450 per payer, while MedStates, CureMD, Medwave and nCred quote on request. Alma’s membership is $95 a month billed annually. AdvanceAPractice charges a setup fee per provider of $500, $750 or $1,000 plus $350, $400 or $500 per commercial payer, so five payers total $2,250, $2,750 or $3,500.

What Should A Credentialing Service Include?

At a minimum, it should cover CAQH/DataSpring setup and re-attestation tracking, the payer applications, follow-up until each payer confirms your effective date, and a written record of where every application stands. Ask whether recredentialing is included or billed separately. A service that stops at submission leaves the slowest part of the job to you.

Who Keeps My CAQH/DataSpring Profile Current?

You attest it yourself, because attestation is the provider’s own act. A service can build and align the data, track re-attestation dates and flag what’s missing, but the final attestation is yours. At AdvanceAPractice, we maintain the profile data as an authorized practice manager while we work your applications. After that, Ongoing Credentialing keeps it current. If you’d rather we update your profile for you, you can choose to share your sign-in through secure onboarding and change the password when we’re done.

I See Patients In More Than One State. How Does That Work?

Each state has its own payer networks, so a provider seeing patients in two or three states usually needs contracts in each one. Tell us your states and we’ll name the commercial payers in each, with the per payer price and the full total, before you buy anything.

Can I Add A Therapist Later?

Yes. New Provider Credentialing adds a new provider to your practice’s signed payer contracts. Group discounts apply by provider count, as listed above. Read About New Provider Credentialing.

Who Handles Our Billing Once We Leave The Platform?

We can. Ongoing Billing runs your claims, denials, payment posting and A/R follow-up inside your own EHR, with a monthly report. It’s 7% of collections with a $300 monthly minimum for a solo provider, down to 4.5%, and there’s no setup fee.

Will Someone Be There As We Grow?

Questions are part of working with us, during setup and for as long as you’re a client. Send them in the Command Suite or by email, and we reply within one business day, usually the same day. If something’s easier to talk through, we can meet virtually, up to twice a month.

Want Contracts In Your Own Name?

Pick your situation, your providers and your payers, and the builder shows every line before checkout. We follow up with each payer at least every 10 business days, confirm each effective date when the payer approves, and the contracts stay yours. If a payer says no or its panel is closed, you get that answer in writing and that payer is complete.

Already On Headway Or Another Platform?

You can keep seeing patients through the platform while we build contracts in your practice’s own name. We tell you as each of your own contracts goes live. A solo clinician opening a first practice starts with First Practice Launch. A group practice with its own Tax ID and Type 2 NPI starts with Direct Payer Contracting.

Read about moving from Headway to your own contracts and Direct Payer Contracting.

Build My Credentialing Price See Direct Payer Contracting

Choose The Right Credentialing Path

Opening a practice, adding a provider, moving existing payer relationships, and seeking new contracts require different work. See the price and scope that match your situation.